personal note

 

These days, it’s rare I write about myself for the hell of it, but an uncharacteristically-sincere feeling of gratitude leaves me wanting to share an update.

I start my third year of my PhD program this week. Despite being unwaveringly a words, not numbers, person, I’m taking quantitative methods classes in hopes of maybe being employable someday. That means I’ll be spending a lot of time learning R and GIS along with TA’ing a statistics class. None of this is what I do for my own research, and none of it comes easy, so it’ll be a tough few months.

I’m doing political work too! It takes up a lot of energy and is an insane time commitment. But it’s good work, the slow and methodical type that stays after you leave and teaches you a lot in the process. I’m thrilled to be doing it.

I also just moved into a new apartment. After years of relying on buses, I feel like I won the lottery. There’s good mexican food and a coffee shop and bars, all nearby! I can walk places, and it’s a quick train ride to work. While I’m still poor as hell, my quality of life has gone way up and it’s hard to believe life can be so good.

Finally, it’s been a year since I decided to Figure Out How to Write. And man, if I’m being honest, I hustled: despite being in grad school and having all the commitments that come with that, I’ve gotten published a few places, learned how to pitch and write stories – unevenly, but apparently well enough – and became colleagues and friends with some great writers.

The political work is time-consuming enough to necessitate I take a break from non-academic writing (at least in theory; we’ll see if I stick to that), so bear with me if I write less.

It may sound melodramatic, but my life’s better than anything I could have hoped for, or even imagined, a few years ago. After years spent studying all sorts of subjects on my own – seriously, that’s why my library’s so sprawling – in an attempt to feel confident enough to hold onto my own opinions, I’m finally starting to feel sure of myself. I’ve got more friends and support than I know what to do with. Some of you are intimidatingly brilliant and inspiring. And I’d like to think that I’m slowly starting to pull my weight.

2 thoughts on “personal note

Leave a Reply

